ICC T20 World Cup 2009

The T20 World Cup Tournament that happened in the year 2009 was again significant in its own way and was eagerly awaited by all the Cricket loving fans and supporters. The buzz and the thrilling excitement that the T20 Format had brought in the evolutionary revolution in the Cricket was still ringing in the air, when all the 12 teams had gathered together for the T20 World Cup tournament. Amidst some controversies on the inclusion of the teams, the ICC Women T20 World Cup to be held alongside the Men Tournament and the venue; England was all prepared finally to host the event. The ICC T20 World Cup 2009 was getting more preference over the other two formats both by the fans and the players, and this was also creating news and controversies on the increase in the injuries among the players. But, this tournament was full of thrill, aggressive competition and enthusiastic excitement.

Group Stages of ICC T20 World Cup 2009

The Group Stage of ICC T20 World Cup 2009 arrived with the tag “Expect the Unexpected” along with it. The Groups were all based on the team’s previous performance and qualification matches and the four groups A, B, C and D, contested against each other in their own groups. The Group A (India, Ireland and Bangladesh), Group B (Pakistan, England and Netherland), Group C (Australia, Sri Lanka and West Indies) and Group D (New Zealand, South Africa and Scotland) and all teams gave their best efforts to put up a tough contest. There were some incredible performances by some players that cheered everyone like that of Chris Gayle and AB de Villers, while the Aussie Champions were shown the exit at the earliest, quite shockingly and surprisingly.

ICC T20 World Cup 2009’s Group A

The first match in this group was between the neighbors India and Bangladesh, which the Indians won easily by 25 runs. Then, Bangladesh was again up against Ireland but the new coming associates eliminated Bangladesh from the tournament by 6 wickets. Then, India faced Ireland in which Zaheer Khan’s 4/19 gave India an easy victory by 8 wickets.

Group B During ICC T20 World Cup 2009

The first match in this group was between Netherlands and England. In a surprising turn of events, the Dutch team beat the home team England by 4 wickets. Then, it was the turn for England to face Pakistan and this time England won the match by 48 runs in front of the home crowd. Then, Pakistan were up against the Netherlands in a must-win game and they beat the later by 82 runs.

ICC T20 World Cup 2009

ICC T20 World Cup 2009 – Group C Teams

In the first match, the Aussies were thrashed by the innings of Chris Gayle as West Indies won the match by 7 wickets. Then, again the Australians never regained their confidence as they lost the match to the Sri Lankans by 6 wickets and were out of the tournament surprisingly. And then, the Sri Lankans topped their group by winning over WI by 15 runs.

Group D

The first match in this group was played between Scotland and New Zealand which the Kiwis won easily by 7 wickets. Then, it was AB de Villers who set the ground on fire as RSA won the match against Scotland by huge margin of 105 runs. In the match between South Africa and New Zealand, it was a narrow escape for the South Africans as they won the match by just 1 run.

Super Eights During ICC T20 World Cup 2009

As the tournament progressed further, it became all the more engrossing and anticipatory. The top two seeds from each groups of A, B, C and D were divided into two groups; Group E (South Africa, West Indies, England and India) and Group F (Sri Lanka, Pakistan, New Zealand and Ireland). Both the groups were all set and ready to clash with each other in their own groups and all the encountering matches were eagerly awaited by their respective fans of the national team. Some best and eye catching performances were by Pakistani bowler Umar Gul, South African batsman AB de Villers and all round performance by West Indian Dwayne Bravo.

Group E

The first match in this group was in between England and South Africa but the luck was not with the home team as they scored Nelson and lost the match by 7 wickets. Dwayne Bravo’s all round performance led West Indies to win by 7 wickets over India. South Africa set a good target for the West Indies and Wayne Parnell’s amazing bowling figures made RSA win by 20 runs. In the match between England and India, the home team had a narrow escape and won by mere 3 runs. However, England’s luck again ran out as they lost the match to the West Indies by 5 wickets as a result of Duckworth Lewis, due to rain interruption. The last match was played between South Africa and India, in which the RSA won by 12 runs.

Group F

In this group, it began with New Zealand winning over Ireland with a huge margin of 83 runs. Then it was Sri Lanka who beat Pakistan by 19 runs. However Pakistan returned strongly and defended the match against New Zealand by 6 wickets. Umar Gul was at his best with his amazing bowling figures of 5/6 in just 3 overs. Ireland gave a toe-to-toe performance against Sri Lanka though the Lankans won at last by 9 runs. Then, Pakistan entered the semi-finals by beating Ireland by 39 runs. The last match of this league was in between Si Lanka cricket team and New Zealand in which the Lankans eliminated the Kiwis by 48 runs.


From here on the crucial stages of the tournament began. It is always a “Do or Die” situation for all the teams and the best team moves forward. This was all the more nail-biting and hair pulling stage as we saw the four qualified teams (South Africa, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and West Indies) against their respective opponents. The first Semi-Final was played between South Africa and Pakistan which the Pakistanis won in a nail-biting finish where it was all “Boom Boom” Afridi’s magic. The second QF was between the Lankans and the West Indies where Sri Lanka thrashed West Indies all out, to reach the finals of the tournament.

The Finals

Countries from all the mainland continents had come and participated in this tournament in England but it were both the Asian teams that had reached the finals of the second T20 World Cup to win the title. All eyes were on both the teams who were predicted as the “dark horses” to win the title. The match was set in the Lords and it became more of a one sided match with Pakistan chasing the target by the Lankans easily. Again, the magical Afridi became the Man of the match while Dilshan was awarded with Man of the Series. This was Pakistan’s second international title win and the proud Pakistani team lifted the ICC T20 world Cup Title 2009 at the Lords ground. We see how the runner ups of ICC T20 world Cup Title 2007 won the title of  ICC T20 world Cup Title 2009.

Comment Your Prediction


Add a Comment
  1. raza Ahmed shahzad

    Pakistan Team pl come back to Icc W T 20 for semi- Final to best India.
    Pl Iam request to you as Shahid Afridi.

  2. raza Ahmed shahzad

    Pakistan Team bring your Icc W T20 Trophy to back home in Lahore.
    to win this match between with India .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *