ICC T20 World Cup 2007

Today we are going to discuss on ICC World Cup 2007. T20 or the Twenty Over format of the Cricket has completely changed the face of the Cricket in the present-day scenario. Nowadays, we could glimpse some fast innings played by the batsmen even in the Test matches which the renowned analysts like Harsha Bhogle say is the “T20 effect” in the Cricket. This short format of the game has wooed and taken the Cricket loving nations and fans by surprise and it all started spurring in the year 2007. This was also the year when the ICC World Cup 2007 took place which again the mighty Australians won, and this time straight for the third time and four in total. But, this wasn’t the end of the World Cup Tournaments. All the Test playing nations along with two other associate countries came together for the ICC T20 World Cup in 2007 in South Africa.

ICC T20 World Cup 2007 Group Stages

The stage was all set for this 13 day tournament and all the four groups A, B, C and D were all ready to contest against each other in their respective groups. The Group A included the teams of South Africa, Bangladesh and West Indies; the Group B consisted of the teams of Australia, England and Zimbabwe; the Group C was formed with the teams of Sri Lanka, New Zealand and Kenya; while the teams of India, Pakistan and Scotland were in the Group D. The Group Stages saw some amazing performances especially the first T20 century and the superb batting by Chris Gayle that included 10 sixes in his innings; Sri Lanka’s gigantic team total of 260 runs and Indo-Pak tie performance reaching the bowl out result.

ICC T20 World Cup 2007 Group A

The first match in this group was played between the home team South Africa and the West Indies. What a match that really was! What better way one could hope to kick start the inaugural match of the first T20 World Cup Championship, when the crazily-in-form Chris Gayle smashed the ball all around the ground for his innings of 117 in just 57 balls and in answer to which the fan favorite Herschelle Gibbs stunned the opponents with his 90 runs in 55 balls taking South Africa to win by 8 wickets.

The next match was played in between the teams of West Indies and Bangladesh. The WI didn’t came out of their loss in their first match and again lost to Bangladesh and went out of the tournament. The last match in this group was played between the South Africa and Bangladesh in which the home team SA had an easy win over the other by 7 wickets.

Group B ICC T20 World Cup 2007

The first match in this group was played in between Australia and Zimbabwe and the result took everyone by surprise when Zimbabwe defeated the World Champions Australia by 7 wickets. The next match was played in between Zimbabwe and England but this time Zimbabwe were not so lucky, as the splendid knock of Pietersen gave England a victorious start to the tournament. Then came the match when both the rivals England and Australia faced each other, but this time though the Aussies all but smashed the English both with bat and ball, to win by 8 wickets.

ICC T20 World Cup 2007 Group C

The results of this group remained pretty much predictable, as in the first match New Zealand bowled out Kenya for mere 73 runs and chased the score with ease winning the match by 9 wickets. In the next match, Sri Lanka thrashed the Kenyan team with the team total of 260 runs. With a huge target to chase, they all made just 88 runs and were bowled out. With this victory the Lankans oozing with confidence won the next match too against the New Zealand by 7 wickets.

ICC T20 World Cup 2007

Group D ICC T20 World Cup 2007

This Group was again full of twists and turning matches. The first match was played in between Pakistan and Scotland where Pakistan very easily won it by 51 runs. The next match did not happen between India and Scotland and that made Pakistan automatically qualify for the next level. The last match of this group was a must-win for India and Pakistan had nothing to lose. Interestingly, the match was tied and India won the match by Bowl Out 3-0.

Super Eights

From here on the main round began and so the top two seeds of all the groups were placed in Group E ( India, New Zealand, South Africa and England) and Group F ( Pakistan, Australia, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh) and they competed against each other for a place in the semi-finals. This was again a tough and teeth grinding contest and one did witness the memorable and splendid innings by Indian batsmen Yuvraj Singh who scored 50 runs in mere 12 balls that included 6 sixes in an over too, and the first hat-trick by the one-and-only aggressive pacer Brett Lee; and also the host team the South Africa were also knocked out in this round.

Group E

The first match in this round was between India and New Zealand whereon Daniel Vettorie’s amazing bowling figure of 4/ 20 made the Kiwis win by mere 10 runs. The next match was played in between South Africa and England and both being strong team, it was the home team SA that won the match by 19 runs. Then it was New Zealand who were up against England, but the Kiwis again won the match with a narrow escape of just 5 runs. Again New Zealand were on the ground but this time against the home team SA and couldn’t hold the ground to them as the South Africa won the match by 6 wickets. This was one of the match which you’d watch open-mouthed and wide-eyed as India was up against England. Yuvraj Singh scored the fastest 50 in 12 balls only and also 6-sixes in an over of Stuart Broad. The last match in this group was in between Indian cricket team and South Africa. This time the home team had to face loss as they lost to India by 37 runs.

Group F

In the first match, Australia won by 9 wickets over Bangladesh and the “Pace Master” Brett Lee took the first T20 hat-trick too. In the next match, Pakistan won by 33 runs against the Lankans in an all-round team performance. Again Pakistan won the match but this time against the strong Aussies by 6 wickets. Then it was Sri Lanka who won the match against Bangladesh by 64 runs. Again the Lankans were on the ground but this time the Aussies slammed them to win by 10 wickets. The last match in this group was between Bangladesh and Pakistan, in which the later won by 4 wickets.


By the semi-finals were to happen, this unpredictable game of Cricket turned over against and in favor of many predictions by the media, sports analyst and the fans and supporters. Both the World Cup 2007 runner up team and the home fan-favorite South Africa were knocked out of the tournament, surprising many. The dark horses Pakistan and the New Zealand were to play against one another and Pakistan won the match 6 wickets, while the mighty Australians were up against the rejuvenated Indian Side and surprisingly it was India who won by 15 runs. The outcome of the semi-finals again shocked and surprised everyone as the sports rivals India and Pakistan reached the Finals, against all the odds.

The Finals of ICC T20 World Cup 2007

The match became epic and both the sides played putting their best efforts on this big day. There was a lot of pressure on both the teams and the best of the two won the match. In a nail biting finish, India won the Finals by 5 runs. India won the first title of the ICC T20 World Cup and became the Champions lifting the cup under the leadership of Captain M S Dhoni. It was quite ironic that India was amongst one of those teams who were not so optimistic towards the T20 format, but this title win of theirs made T20, the most watched format of the country. Overall, the T20 format with this brought a new sort of spontaneity in Cricket, something which this game had never seen or witnessed before.

Comment Your Prediction

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *